Nebo Big Larry Magnum Review

"A light heart lives long. – Irish Proverb"
Last updated - Sep 4th 2020 by: Proteus
Share this review
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
nebo-big-larry-magnum-review

Nebo Big Larry Magnum COB LED Flashlight Worklight Magnetic (Assorted Colors)

About Nebo Big Larry Magnum

Meta score: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5/5

Our verdict: Nebo Big Larry Magnum is the best reviewed LED work light. And we also had a good time testing the Nebo Big Larry Magnum as it really exceeded our expectations. The Nebo Big Larry Magnum is sold and manufactured by a company called NEBO but Amazon are responsible for the shipping and delivery "Fulfilled by Amazon" so Amazon will ship the item from a warehouse near you. This means added safety and faster delivery times for you, so we think that is good. If you also want to have a Nebo Big Larry Magnum buying it at Amazon.com should be your best option. Check out Nebo Big Larry Magnum on Amazon now, where you can get it for $18.92 (In Stock.) You will also get free shipping if you buy it Nebo Big Larry Magnum from Amazon. This amazing LED work light is even available with Amazon Prime. Want to know more about Amazon Prime and get a one month discounted trial?

Specification for Nebo Big Larry Magnum

  • Equipped with new COB LED technology, the BIG Larry outputs 400 lumens of intense light.
  • Secondary light modes include Low (160 lumens) and the Emergency Red Flash mode.
  • The anodized aluminum body and recessed LED housing ensures that the BIG Larry can handle any situation.
  • Powerful magnetic base
  • Assorted Colors: Silver or Black chosen randomly

Nebo Big Larry Magnum Image Gallery

Verified Buyer Reviews & Ratings

The consensus of the reviews for the Nebo Big Larry Magnum is very strong and we can draw no other conclusion that this is one of the very best LED work light on the market. We list the most helpful reviews below. If you want to look at all the reviews for Nebo Big Larry Magnum you can see them at Amazon.com

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Powerful LED FlashLights for Work or Video Lighting
Reviewed in the United States on June 13, 2016 by Chris Gray

"Having a powerful Flashlight handy is great when the power goes out. How many time have you had the power go out and you did not have a working flashlight or you had a weak flashlight that did not light up the area. What about if you are working a job in a dark place and need some serious illumination to see what needs to get fixed? Too many times, these situations seemed to happen to me every time i need some light in a dark place. I finally found Nebo’s Big Larry and the Smaller version LED flashlights and boy have they made my life easier. The bigger version has a maximum output of 400 lumens that lasts almost 5 hours, the medium settings at 150 lumens lasts about 15 hours and the red safety flash lasts up to 40 hours. Now this will depend on the batteries you use so keep that in mind. One drawback for some and could be considered good for others is the fact it uses 3 AA batteries. I like this because I use rechargable batteries and I can swap them out and get back to lighting things up. The body is made of a tough aluminum and so far has handled a few hard falls do to my clumsy nature. On the bottom of the Big Larry there is a strong magnet that holds the light in place. This is also useful if you purchase the optional belt holder. Now for the little Larry pen light, This version is a bit smaller and easier to put in say a pocket and it packs a mean punch in the lighting department. At a whopping 170 lumens this little darling will be sure to light up a space in a jam. It takes 3 AAA batteries and will stay illuminated for about 5 hours again this depends on your batteries. There is also a magnet located in the clip part that swivels. I use these lights for my current day job and I use them for my on location video shoots where light is poor. I love both the Big Larry and the smaller version I use them every day and could not be happier with them. Nebo has a great product."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Great light.
Reviewed in the United States on October 17, 2015 by J. Grant

"This is just a first impression since I haven't even gone through my first set of batteries but I have to say two things are apparent immediately. One is that this flashlight seems really well-made, with a metal body, good switch action, and even smooth thread action on the screw-off cap on the battery compartment. The magnet on the base is large enough & strong enough to hold the flashlight securely at any angle. My car's fender over the wheel well is very non-uniform, but this thing stuck fine and didn't want to fall over or wander. Nice. Second is the brightness. The LEDs are the newer-generation and REALLY bright. The "hi-beam" level is too bright to look at, and even the low setting is maybe a bit brighter than my old toolbox flashlight. The flashing red setting is quite attention-grabbing even several hundred meters away. So far I've had the thing on and sitting next to me and I haven't noticed any dimming over the last 2-3 hours. Light and lots of it. Just what you want from a flashlight. At $25 it isn't exactly cheap, but given the build quality & the light output I'd say it is a pretty good deal. I'm giving it the benefit of the doubt on the durability of the LEDs. If they start failing or the electronics conk out then I may have to revise my opinion, but for now, based on first impressions I'm giving it 5 stars. Update: Flashlight is still going strong after over a year of use. I carry it around with me and I use it constantly at work and in the workshop at home. The only nit's I've encountered since I bought it are that certain batteries sometimes get stuck and that if you jolt it the light will sometimes go off. I suspect the former is related more to the rechargeable batteries that I use than the flashlight, though it wouldn't hurt if the next version of the flashlight added a few mils to the diameter of the battery compartment. Some of these batteries are just a tiny bit wider than other batteries. I've run into this issue with other devices and these batteries too, which is why I'm not really blaming this on the flashlight. However, these batteries in this flashlight result in a problem where the first of the 3 batteries inserted into the flashlight has a tendency to get wedged into switch end of the battery compartment. Worst case this means I'll need to carefully drop the flashlight opening-first onto the (carpeted) floor to knock it loose. I've had to do this several times so far with no ill effects, but obviously I don't want to do this too many times for fear of damaging the flashlight (esp. the threads for the endcap) so I'm careful now to check this whenever I use a new set of batteries. (The batteries in question are a "Tenergy"-branded set of rechargeable AAs. They have a thin plastic shrink-wrapped outer covering/label that isn't an issue in most devices but makes them just a tiny bit wider than other batteries. Fortunately the covering/label can be removed with careful application of a sharp hobby knife. This lets these batteries be used without a problem in this flashlight as well as a couple other devices I've had similar spacing issues with. Just a tip for others who might have run into a similar problem.) The other problem I've encountered with this flashlight is that the batteries aren't as secure in their compartment as I'd like and tend to briefly lose contact when the flashlight is jolted or rattled. Unlike the other problem described above, this doesn't seem to be related to the brand of battery used. There's a spring in the battery compartment's screw-on cap that's supposed to provide enough compression to keep this from happening, but it isn't quite strong enough IMHO. If you set the flashlight down a bit too hard or you inadvertently bang the light against something then the jolt can cause a brief disconnect. (Often this happens when the magnet grabs the metal you're attaching the flashlight to for instance.) In a normal flashlight this would just cause a flicker, but in this one any loss of power to the electronics seems to cause a reset and the light to go out. Pushing the power b"

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ wonderful bright flashlight.
Reviewed in the United States on July 13, 2016 by KJH

"I bought this for my husband at a local hardware store here in Wyoming, I paid $30 for it and thought that was worth that. This flashlight is so BRIGHT!! It's great for working on the car, working around the house in darker places like the basement or garage. My husband liked this flashlight so much that he decided he wanted to get one for his father for Father's day. I went on Amazon this time to look for the flashlight (should have done that the first time) and found it for $17. I IMMEDIATLY ordered 2 more, an extra for us and 1 for my Father in Law. The flashlight has 3 settings one setting is blindingly bright, a lower setting that still seems pretty bright but manageable and then a red flashing light. About 2 weeks ago our power went out from 6 AM to 7 PM. I went to the bathroom turn the shower on and thought oh crap no light in here and we have no windows in our bathroom, so it was super dark. I ran to get this flashlight, put it on the lower light and it still lite up the bathroom like it was broad daylight. I was so happy to have it then. We got the belt holster (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01BKTBWYW/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) to go with it which works out nicely to be able to clip it to your belt or my husband clipped it to the hood of the car. Overall this is a wonderful flashlight we are enjoying it and use it practically every day for one thing or another, it has definitely replaced many of our other flashlights. You won't be disappointed with this. Highly suggest getting this for whatever reason you may be looking for a flashlight for. It would work out great to put in a car, or a 72 hour kit, or emergency supply bag"

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Holy crap! this thing is BRIGHT!
Reviewed in the United States on April 15, 2016 by adisonidle

"Wow! For being such a small device, this thing is BRIGHT!! The picture i've posted was taken in a windowless warehouse at work that was pitch black - this lights up the place great. I saw it on display while waiting in line at a hardware store. I decided to click it on just to waste time, and for the next 10 minutes i had that huge blue dot in my vision! I was sold, and immediately purchased it on amazon ($10 cheaper here than at the store!) This thing is very rugged, made of metal. It has 3 modes which alternate as you press the button on the top of the unit, REALLY bright. slightly dimmer, and flashing red. the magnet on the bottom is very strong - strong enough to hold the device horizontally if needed. Highly recommend this for any tool box."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Superb Worklight or Hazard Warning Light
Reviewed in the United States on September 18, 2016 by GRP Amazon Customer

"I am what is called in the flashlight community a "flashaholic" because of my hobby of collecting and using all types of flashlights. At first I was skeptical of the Nebo Big Magnum Larry because it was sold on the counters of the local UPS store, my local pharmacy, etc. Typically these types of retailers carry cheap junk for flashlights. I was surprised to find the Nebo to be a quality addition to my collection. So much so that we use it everyday when walking the dogs. To illuminate the sidewalk and then when crossing the street we switch it to the bright flashing red warning light. It has great spill for a floodlight while walking, is an excellent work light (under the hood of a car for example), and the red flashing option is brilliant. Even in daylight the flashing red light can be seen for quite a long distance. Highly recommended."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Great work light!
Reviewed in the United States on July 4, 2016 by Johnny Mac

"Great work light! I saw this light at my local Ace Hardware store for $25 and liked it a lot. I don't normally buy "retail store" flashlights but this one really caught my eye with it's huge flood beam and strong magnetic base. I figured I could find it cheaper here on Amazon and I was correct. prime shipping got it to me in just 2 days. The Big Magnum Larry came in a simple cardboard box with a set of 3 AA batteries for immediate use. Threads on the light are pretty smooth and are easy to start without binding when changing cells. The large COB LED on the side of the light is fairly unique to flashlights and provides a perfect light for under the hood or around the shop when you need extra light. THe BML offers 2 regular output levels (medium and high) and a flashing red mode for use as an emergency locator. High mode easily meets the claimed 400 lumens as it easily illuminates a room. Medium mode is nice for close up work when too bright a light washes out what you are trying to work on. There is visible PWM (pulse width modulation) in medium mode. PWM, if you don't know what it is, is a way to reduce the visible output of a light by flashing the LED on and off hundreds of times per second. Many people can be bothered by this high frequency "strobing" but most folks don't ever notice it. It's not a deal breaker but if you are sensitive to it then you may want to reconsider this light. HIgh mode has no PWM and the light is steady as it is run at 100% output. The beam covers about a 170 degree spill angle for a nice, wide beam of light. The electronic switch is on the top of the light where the LED and reflector would be on a regular light. The button clicks are precise and easy to find and use even with gloved hands. The magnet on the base of the BML is strong enough to securely anchor the light sideways on any ferrous surface (car hood, fenders, refrigerator, metal shelves, etc). This makes it invaluable when working on your car where lighting is always at a premium. AA cells are inexpensive and easily procured. The plastic lens that protects the large COB LED may be considered a negative by some but in a light like this it is a necessity. I understand why plastic is chosen for the lens in this light, especially when considering the abuse it is likely to face in daily use. The plastic lens will get scratched over time and but will resist breaking from the hits it is likely to take in work use. FIne scratches that will accumulate in time can easily be polished out to make it like new. Negatives: My first negative to the light would be the lack of a lower output level for use as an emergency light in the event of a power outage.when super long runtime is desired. The second would be the overly simplified UI (user interface). To turn off the light you have to cycle through all the modes. From Off, a click turns the light on High. A second click changes to Medium. A third click to red flashing. A fourth click takes you back to Off. It would be nicer if a long click (press and hold for 0.5s-1s) would turn the light off or on from any mode. Not a deal breaker, mind you, but not as refined as it could be and it wouldn't cost a single cent more to produce it with a better UI. Overall this is a great flashlight that fits a unique niche that my other flashlights (more than 150 of them) can't fill. It's the perfect underhood and workshop light. I would buy another if I ever lost or broke the BML and can recommend it to others who need a smooth, floody light with great output."

Best Mechanical Inspection LED Work Light

We think that the Nebo Big Larry Magnum is the best mechanical inspection LED work light you can have. It is very bright, lights up a whole room let alone a work area. It is magnetic and completely portable. Big Larry magnum is a nifty guy, he’s super bright with just 3 aa batteries, the magnet on the bottom is very strong, and the light is absolutely stunning. I was able to attach it to the fridge by mistake and it just stuck to the wall behind the freezer. Serves great as a check out person, will buy another for myself, and have bought two so far. I have always stuck to streamlight but this little light is amazing. I am a commercial hvac tech and I use this little light alot. It doesnt go thru batteries quickly eithet Excellent light, very bright. I like the magnet, very strong. The light has two settings, low and high and also a red flashing mode.

Brilliant when working on your car these days. Thanks! This is quite impressive, the brightness of which is good for field work, but also nice to have in your car. I haven't had much chance to use it yet, but I will edit this review if my opinion of the light changes. It is quite large - larger than you might think, given the light it produces. It spread light very well, making it easy to fit in tight spaces where light is needed. I have noticed that the light starts to flicker at around 3200 lumens, which is something that I didn't expect to happen, but I guess that is one characteristic of this light. Overall, it seems very well built. I gave it a four star rating because I was concerned that it might be manufactured defectively, since the plastic lens that protects the large COB LED is plastic and could possibly give off harmful levels of ultraviolet light.

Bright Mechanical Inspection LED Work Light

Big Larry Magnum from Nebo is one of the brightest COB LED work lights we have found. It requires 2 batteries and is very easy to use. The low light and flashing red are very unique to flashlights and will undoubtedly get a lot of use. The super bright area will probably get used a lot by police and firemen. This is a really bright work light. It requires 2 batteries, but is very useful for power failures. Even on low the light is bright. It has a red flashing sequence. That's usually not what I want when working on my car, but this flashlight does the job just fine. It's heavy, but I only wish you could choose from a limited edition color - black seems to be the most popular choice. We will probably be buying more of these for sure, I keep one in every vehical and in my tool bag. They're very bright and the magnet is powerful - this is not a lighting accessory, it's a beacon primary light. Love this light, but others have had similar issues.

The high mode puts out 400 lumens and the low mode 160 lumens. The former is VERY bright and the latter is not as bright but it is good for an emergency. The magnet on the bottom is very strong and can hold the light in place while the magnet on the side of the light is added. UPDATE: According to the manufacturer, the magnet on the base of the light is too small to accept a .38 Special/.357 Magnum or larger ammunition magazine. So if you already have a spare mag and want to use it as a spare, you need to order one of these. It is super bright so itllllood out any dark alley way I need it. This is a really bright light. It has a really strong magnet that would be useful if working on your car etc. It also has a really bright strobe feature that could come in handy for roadside assistance or crime scene investigation. This is a really good light.

Durable Mechanical Inspection LED Work Light

With the anodized aluminum body the Nebo Big Larry Magnum is very durable and shock resistant. It is lightweight and packs a mean punch in the lighting department. The outer case of the NEBO Big Magnum is made from aircraft aluminum and is definitely sturdy and well built. The switch assembly is made from a plastic cup-style container and is definitely strong enough to endure life in the tool bag. The plastic lens that protects the large COB LED may be considered a negative by some but in a light like this it is a necessity. I understand why plastic is chosen for the lens in this light, especially when considering the abuse it is likely to face in daily use. The plastic lens will get scratched over time and but will resist breaking from the hits it is likely to take in work use. FIne scratches that will accumulate in time can easily be polished out to make it like new. Negatives:My first negative to the light would be the lack of a lower output level for use as an emergency light in the event of a power outage.

Having a durable and shock resistant work light is a good thing when you are in the workshop. The nice feature of the light is that it spreads the light very widely. This puts out a LOT of light. For those that are into that sort of thing, this is a must have. It is very robust and made of very high quality materials. I have dropped it multiple times and it still works great. I have two servo controllers that I use often and this light is a nice upgrade. I have used this light for about a month now. Love it. My husband gave it to his daughter who works on her car often. She loves it too. We have different flashlights and this one is always handy and my husband gives it as a birthday gift to everyone. It would be perfect to keep in your car where you don't care about the color of the light, you just want to see when it's dark. Solid build quality. Very bright.

More Top Rated LED work light

We have reviewed several other items of the LED work light type. Below are the reviews for the ones who we think are the best in class: