Streamlight Vantage LED Helmet Mounted Flashlight Review

"When they were hungry Coach Ek would use a flashlight to shine on the stalactites above. – Banpot Korncam"
Last updated - Sep 1st 2020 by: Proteus
Share this review
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
streamlight-vantage-led-helmet-mounted-flashlight-review

Streamlight 69140 Vantage LED Tactical Helmet Mounted Flashlight, Black

About Streamlight 69140 Vantage

Meta score: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5/5

Our rating: Streamlight 69140 Vantage is our favorite helmet mounted flashlight. We had a fun time testing the Streamlight 69140 Vantage and all it's numerous well implemented features. The Streamlight 69140 Vantage is a creation from a company called STREAMLIGHT but the item is shipped from a nearby Amazon fulfillment center which makes for faster and safer delivery. If you want to get a Streamlight 69140 Vantage for yourself buying it at Amazon.com is probably your best option. Check out Streamlight 69140 Vantage on Amazon now, where you can buy it for $114.75 ($114.75 / oz) (In Stock.) You will also get free shipping if you order Streamlight 69140 Vantage from Amazon. You can get this helmet mounted flashlight with Amazon Prime. Want to know more about Amazon Prime and get a one month discounted trial?.

Specification for Streamlight 69140 Vantage

  • Rotates 360 degrees on clamp
  • Bright blue tail light LED
  • On/off switch operates with heavy gloves on
  • Attach or remove in seconds with no tools
  • Clamps on above or below helmet brim
  • Bulb: LED
  • Finish: Matte Black
  • Output (lumens): 115
  • Power Source: CR123A Lithium, x 2
  • Switch: Dual-Direction On/Off Switch

Streamlight 69140 Vantage Image Gallery

Verified Buyer Reviews & Ratings

The consensus of the reviews for the Streamlight 69140 Vantage is very strong and we can draw no other conclusion that this is one of the very best helmet mounted flashlight on the market. We list the most helpful reviews below. If you want to look at all the reviews for Streamlight 69140 Vantage you can see them at Amazon.com

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Worth every penny!
Reviewed in the United States on September 16, 2016 by J.R.

"Bought this for my son, who is a professional firefighter. He is amazed, and has had others buy it after seeing it. So much better than the awesome old streamlights and helmet mounted minimags we relied on 20 years ago when I used them. The taillight helps backup men know your exact location. Please buy the red because "From the Manufacturer: For every red Vantage sold, Streamlight will donate $3.00 to The National Fallen Firefighters Foundation". He said that the battery life is phenomenal, and CR123 batteries have incredible shelf life, so they don't self discharge like other batteries. If this helps my son see 1 hazard sooner, I got my money's worth. Smoke is hard to penetrate, creates a lot of glare, and a poorly engineered helmet light, no matter how bright, compromises the firefighter and the victim he may need to help. Dillon said this light is the brightest on every scene, and cuts smoke like a jet of fresh air."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Great for dragon slaying.
Reviewed in the United States on September 16, 2014 by coedel

"Great light tough as hell. First day on the helmet caught an apartment fire. Confined to unit, lots of fire load, it was like an oven inside. Fire rolled over us at the door, scortched the helmet, melted the visor and shield. Light came out with scortched exterior, the front bulb case was completely fine, blue "follow me light" was slightly burnt but completely visible. Helmet had to be replaced, only thing not replaced was the light. Still works perfectly."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ A lightweight alternative to a survivor or box light, and less cumbersome. Great piece of gear.
Reviewed in the United States on April 1, 2018 by Tacky

"Being a career firefighter, and in the fire service for more than. 20 years, I rely on my gear alot. Off duty I run a similar light on several of my rifles the TLR 1, and use alot of streamlight products on the job, so I new I was getting quality. It fit my paul conway traditional helmet without the shims, it feels nice and secure. It also does not add any noticeable weight also a plus. Its plenty bright, and looking forward to using it, and several of the guys have expressed interest in the vantage. I am definately gonna put it through some real world abuse, and hope it can hold up to the heat. But this is way better than lugging around a box light, or survivor strapped to your coat. Not sure how the batteries will hold up when exposed to extreme heat being they are lithium, but I have my fingers crossed. Any advantage I can get, I gladly except. So far I am happy with it. This was the second I purchased for the wife, who is also a career firefighter, she loves it."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Defective product, but quality customer service
Reviewed in the United States on September 5, 2017 by hvymetal67

"My light has leaked on multiple occasions both on training ground and actual fire ground. I tried letting it dry after each occurrence, but it finally gave up the ghost and now I have to pay for shipping to have streamlight repair it. Water was in battery compartment and actual light housing. UPDATE: I contacted Streamlight customer service and they had me mail the light in (I did have to pay for shipping). They were unable to repair it, but did replace it."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ nice helmet attachable light
Reviewed in the United States on January 2, 2019 by Edward Dunne

"I've used this a few times since purchase. it works well. hoping the material and construction are as durable as they seem to be. it is rather nice looking, feels solid. the light is plenty bright. it won't help you find your way in a smoke banked room as well as the hand lights, but it will help during overhaul, and night exterior operations. and the hands free use, make it better than not having a light because you didn't have a hand free. the rear led makes you visible if anyone has to follow you. which is a nice addition. it comes with adjusting plates, to change the angle, but I didn't need any. it seemed perfectly aligned with my line of sight with out the adjustments."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Great light for the price
Reviewed in the United States on May 22, 2020 by Eric Isaac

"Would give it 5 stars if not for the overly hard to move swivel to position the light where I needed it. Almost sent it back, but put it in the vice at the hall and finally got it to budge. Great positioning on the helmet and have it set up to shine right where I am looking. Takes up minimal space unlike other helmet lights and was easy to put on after getting the light to move as it should. Wish it was just a tad brighter, but it does indeed get the job done and for the compact size, I am more than happy."

Best LED Helmet Mounted Flashlight

We think that the Streamlight Vantage might be the best helmet mounted flashlight on the consumer market. It is bright, easily focused as desired, and easily mounted in a position that meets your expectations. The flashlight is also easy to turn on or off with gloved hands, and the battery life is so so so far exceeded my expectations. So far I have it on for 6 hours or so and it has worked. I am very pleased. Works amazing with my fire helmet It works great! I bought this for one of my sons who had just made firefighter one. He is jumping up and down happy with it. I thought it was an important safety item. Must have for all FFs Great light. So far so good! Great product! I've used it on multiple structure fires now and this little light is amazing! Super bright, easy to turn on, and extremely well built. I never have to think twice about it working Used on my firefighting helmet. Very easy to mount on my helmet.

Streamlight who are famous for their high quality products made no mistakes with this head mounted LED flashlight either. The blue "tail light" LED really makes it much easier to locate and keep track of other fire fighters in a smoky environment. The blue "tail light" also appears to illuminate the area in which the fire is located, making it easy for other trapped or missing persons to see you as well. This light is extremely bright and extremely easy to attach to your helmet. Please buy the red because "From the Manufacturer: For every red Vantage sold, Streamlight will donate $3.00 to The National Fallen Firefighters Foundation". He said that the battery life was phenomenal with this light on, and that it was difficult for me to get the batteries installed without using a Rivetor III. If this helps my son see 1 hazard sooner, I got my money's worth. Smoke is hard to penetrate, creates a lot of glare, and a poorly engineered helmet light, no matter how bright, compromises the firefighter and the victim he may need to help.

Easy to Operate and Attach Helmet Mounted Flashlight

Streamlight 69140 Vantage can easily be attached above or below the brim on fire helmets, industrial helmets and hard hats. The Light is rugged, and easily mounts to shrouded structures. It is also easy to turn on or off with gloves on, and changes are prompt which is always a plus. PLEASE NOTE: This light has a very small (less than 5″) LED on/off switch. This is a great tool for a hands free light. The light is bright and easy to point by moving my head. The blue safety light in the back of the light is a great addition in low visibility conditions. How many fire fighters have had other guys walk right into them during a job?? Who's that? Who's this? Right? Nice product Im glad I made the purchase. Great product Works great, use it every chance I get. A little smaller then expected. Hubby uses it for work on his helmet.

The operation of the light is easy and precise even with gloves on and no tools are needed. The light is rugged and will not fail you Have had a few fires and love this light. It is so bright i can see through the smoke and got back to the front door. Hands down the best light for firefighters Like always great product fits great on my leather and it is bright as hell love it ! My son is a reserve Fire fighter and his helmet curves down at the edge when most curve up, so the light on his helmet doesn't exactly shine where he needs, but he improvises and it does the job he needs it to do. All in all it a great piece of equipment. I've been wanting to purchase this helmet light for a very long time, ever since seeing a fellow firefighter with it at an incident years ago. It emits a piercing white light that cuts through smoke not only allowing you to see but others to see you. I bought one of these for each of my crew members.

Helmet Mounted Flashlight with C4 LED

The LED bulb in the flashlight is of the C4 type, developed by Streamlight. This type of bulb is most commonly a blue LED, but may also be a white LED. These bulbs have a blue backlight, so the light source appears white when the bulb is off. To make the light even more visible, some manufacturers add "on/off" technology to the front end of the bulb. This allows the light to be turned on or off with gloves on easily and without having to take it off and reposition. Some of this information may also be found on the packaging. Hazardous environment: Any flashlight that will be used in a hazardous environment or confined space must be properly tested to ascertain that it meets or exceeds all applicable safety standards for those locations. Hazardous Locations are defined by the National Electric Code and include the following classifications. Class I locations are areas where flammable gases may be present in sufficient quantities to produce explosive or flammable mixtures.

The C4 LED really does a good job, putting out 115 lumens in a 167-yard long beam. The beam intensity seems fairly consistent throughout most of the time, even with the super bright light. The only issue with this light is the amount of batteries required. The batteries are easy to find and last well. The rear facing blue light is pretty useful in dark or smoke filled environments. bright light. easily mounts to helmet, has a blue LED on the back so it is easy to see where the light is aimed. easy to turn on and off with gloved hands. Bright, easy to use, and relatively inexpensive. I recommend this light to all firefighters. This light is made from high quality materials and it feels like a tank. The rear blue light is surprisingly visible from behind, and the main light is very bright! If you are standing outside in the dark, this beam will easily light up something 125 ft away. I have seen this product used by numerous personnel on my department and recently purchased one for myself.

More Top Rated helmet mounted flashlight

We have reviewed several other items of the helmet mounted flashlight type. Below are the reviews for the ones who we think are the best in class: