SureFire Titan Ultra-Compact Keychain LED Flashlight Review

"We didn't even have time to empty the garbage, i'm going in first with a flashlight and wearing a mask, and one of us will open the doors and windows and flush the house out. – John Smith"
Last updated - Aug 31st 2020 by: Proteus
Share this review
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
share-on-facebook
surefire-titan-ultra-compact-keychain-led-flashlight-review

SureFire Titan Ultra-Compact Dual-Output LED Keychain Light, Black

About SureFire Titan

Meta score: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5/5

We believe the SureFire Titan is the best rated keychain LED flashlight. And we loved testing the SureFire Titan in the lab because it had so many nice features. The SureFire Titan is produced and sold by SureFire but the item is shipped from a nearby Amazon fulfillment center which makes for faster and safer delivery. If you would want to have a SureFire Titan you can get it on Amazon.com. Check out SureFire Titan on Amazon now, where you can purchase it for $53.99 (In Stock.) You will also get free shipping if you purchase it SureFire Titan on Amazon. You can get this keychain LED flashlight with Amazon Prime. Want to know more about Amazon Prime and get a one month discounted trial?.

Specification for SureFire Titan

  • Virtually indestructible, high-performance LED is regulated to maximize output and runtime at two useful levels: 125, and 15 lumens
  • Proprietary faceted reflector creates broad, smooth MaxVision Beam that matches your field of view--and allows for better situational awareness
  • Head switch - simply twist counterclockwise repeatedly to activate and set output level or turn off
  • Powered by an included rechargeable AAA NiMH battery (charger sold separately)
  • can also be powered by a readily available AAA alkaline battery and a AAA lithium battery
  • Included stainless steel split ring on tailcap easily and securely attaches to keys

SureFire Titan Image Gallery

Verified Buyer Reviews & Ratings

The consensus of the reviews for the SureFire Titan is very strong and we can draw no other conclusion that this is one of the very best keychain LED flashlight on the market. We list the most helpful reviews below. If you want to look at all the reviews for SureFire Titan you can see them at Amazon.com

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ In pursuit of the ultimate keychain light. This might be it for me.
Reviewed in the United States on February 9, 2016 by RT - Gadget Guy

"I'm reviewing both the black 125 lumen version (Titan) and the brass 300 lumen version (Titan Plus). A flashlight is something I feel I need to have with me all the time, whether it's to light up the back of my computer to change a cable, looking for the keyhole, or stranded at the side of the road trying to change a tire, or just finding my way downstairs to check if I locked the front door after just got into bed. The survival instinct in me says I don't want to be caught without light at the time of need so I'm always looking for the ultimate light. So the ultimate flashlight for me is that it's one that is always with me, and that's a keychain light. I've bought quite a few over the years so let's go through them. I don't mind paying more for something that should last years, if not decades, So here are some of the keychain lights I've owned and what I think of them: 1. Original LRI Photon. These little button cell flashlights still haven't been beaten in one way, they disappear on your keychain. If you need a little squirt of light, it's there. Way faster than you can light up your phone. Nice wide flood beam because it's basically a plastic shell holding a round LED bulb. The light stays on as long as you keep the button pressed. So it's unlikely you'll drain the battery by leaving it on. Long life lithium cells means it'll last years likely. 2. The modern successor to the LRI Photo is the Nitecore Tube. This is like a larger LRI Photon which has a rechargeable battery. The tube is quite a bit bigger but uses a single LED just like the LRI, but you can control the brightness by clicking twice, or holding down the button. To recharge it, use a USB cable. This is big enough that it will make your keychain noticeably bulkier but the runtime and brightness is a lot higher. The highest setting of 45 lumens is very bright, so this will be more than bright enough for any close quarters task. The issue with these is that 1) the rechargeable battery won't hold its charge forever, after a couple of months, you might want to top up the charge 2) people have reported these things malfunctioning/dying. So that kinda of disqualifies it as a "light you can rely on" 3. Fenix LD02. This is similar to the Surefire Titan I'm reviewing. Similar size, cheaper price, but has a nice tail clicky switch (press in to click, press again to release). The light is obviously larger/heaver than the coin cell light, but this is a real light with LED with a small lens to give a useful close range beam. Beam is floody but will still light up things at a close to medium distance (like if you need to sweep an interior area looking for something). Three light levels depending on how many times you press the switch. With a much larger AAA battery, the flashlight will last hours in low and medium modes, so you could rely on this if you get lost in the woods at night. Two issues with the light: the click switch may get activated while in your pocket and thus the battery may be accidentally drained. The three levels of brightness is not that useful because the 8 lumens low isn't all that low, say, if you wanted to read in the dark without disturbing your night vision. There isn't that much apparent difference in the modes, I would have liked more separation. The pocket clip is not very good (in that it will probably bend or release itself too easily). Being a Chinese brand light, you may be dealing with somebody in China if you have warranty support. 4. Surefire Titan Plus (Titan B) model. This is the 300 "luxury" version of the Titan. It's a really cool light. Tough, made of heavy brass with three useful levels that are well spaced apart. The lowest brightness mode is also way too bright (15 lumens). It has a nice beam with long runtime in low and medium with a "turbo" mode high if you really need sweep a larger area. Because the lowest mode is 15 lumens, you'll probably be happy with using this light in that mode most of the time. Because you have to twist the head to turn it on, there are less accidental activations. The bad thing is about these kinds"

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Surefire Titan AAA Battery Issues
Reviewed in the United States on April 24, 2015 by John051

"It's a Surefire, it's a well constructed flashlight. But that battery issue. The one that comes with it works fine, my alkaline worked ok (a little snug but went in and out ok), but none of the Energizer Lithiums work (they all went in, but all took pliers to get them out). I called Surefire twice. The first one I talked to said that my batteries must be out of tolerance, end of discussion. The second one also said the batteries do come with varying widths, and she had to take the outer wrapper off a Lithium to get it to fit in hers (I tried that, and it does work). I asked her if sanding the inside of the flashlight (I saw that in one of the forums) would invaludate the warrenty, and she said no. I want to be able to stop at any store and buy any battery and it would fit. I tried four Eneloops, one fit the other three didn't. I tried four Energizer Lithiums, and all four fit differently; it did take pliers to remove them. I wound up sanding the inside of the flashlight. It took only a few minutes and now all the batteries fit. I still like the flashlight but am disapointed that Surefire didn't do a better quality control before releasing it."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ The best light that will always be there for you.
Reviewed in the United States on August 14, 2016 by GreatNorthWoods

"I've been using this flashlight for over 6 months. It a fantastic light. Some reviewers complain of the "twist activation" but it's a small price to pay for the most compact 300 lumen flashlight money can buy. It's always in my back pocket. So I'm never without a reliable light. If I'm using it a lot (couple times a day) then I'll need to put a new aaa battery in it every couple weeks for bright settings, and aaa's only cost pennies. And the low setting works for hours of continuous use past this point. I've used many surefire products over the years and they've never failed. I love the rugged design and simple "no frills" function. I hate lights with 10 different modes and other marketing hype features that are not needed. Lights have one purpose: light. And surefires always work. And the warranty is unbeatable."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Good Heavy Duty AAA Flashlight
Reviewed in the United States on October 22, 2018 by Kindle Customer

"This is my second Titan Plus. I "lost" my first Titan Plus but I found it the day after my new Titan arrived, but I wanted two anyway: one for my car and one for my bedroom. I own three Fenix (LOD, LD01) AAA lights, which are better buys for the money, but the Titan is in a higher class - it is built with precision and the twist head is perfectly smooth as if on ball bearings. It's as solid as a tank with thick brass walls, which serves as the LED's head sink, which is essential when running 300 lumens out of a tiny flashlight. The only disappointments is the slightly greenish beam tint, especially when compared to the cool white of my Fenix lights. The Fenix lights are good for daily light duty, but If your light is to be used after a natural disaster, this dependable, heavy duty light is the one you want."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Great little light
Reviewed in the United States on July 12, 2015 by Martin C.

"While this new Titan-A isn't like the original Titan or Titan T1A, with the almost infinite light levels, it is a great light for its size. There are some features I would like to have had on this. Rather than the twist on/off action, I would have liked the option of a click-type button on the back end like most SureFire lights. In addition to that, I would like to have a third ultra-low setting of 1 or 1½ Lumen like the lowest low on the T1A. At roughly a quarter the price of the original Titan T1A, this is a great little light. The only issue I've had is that many of the rechargable AAA batteries that aren't SureFire branded are a tighter fit. I've got about a dozen Eneloop AAA's (original and new version), and all of them fit well enough that they may be inserted/removed easily, but some are a tighter fit. After some inspection, I found that the non-SureFire branded Eneloop batteries have a slightly thicker label. This is especially true of where the label overlaps itself. It's very subtle, and such a small measurement that I had to use good digital calipers to know for sure. On one hand, the tighter fit can be a slight irritation. On the other, the battery doesn't rattle around in the light like with some of the other AAA lights. I've had several lights where I've had to put a paper sleeve or tape around the batteries to keep them from rattling."

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ An awesome little flashlight
Reviewed in the United States on January 23, 2017 by Midway

"An awesome little flashlight. I've had a 6P Original, and after that a 6PX Pro, in my pocket for the last 11 years. This little keychain light blows the 6P Original away, and is comparable in brightness to the 6PX while being small enough to not notice it on my keys. The three light modes are very useful for different applications, though I wish it was a bit quicker. Overall an amazing little light that outperforms lights much larger. Be prepared to buy rechargeable AAAs and a charger."

Best Ultra-Compact Keychain LED Flashlight

The Sure. Fire Titan is one of the very best ultra-compact keychain LED flashlights. Surefire has a well earned reputation for reliable, fun-to-use light fixtures. This sturdy, four-leaf design is perfectly balanced and extraordinarily bright for such a small flashlight. Once you read the directions on how to adjust the brightness. It is around a half inch longer than my car key fob. That said, if necessary to, you could unscrew the tail cap if you really wanted a candle mode. Once you unscrew the tail cap, the flashlight can stand on a flat surface, but again, be careful that you don't let anything get inside the battery chamber. A word to the manufacturer if you're reading. I would purchase a flat tail cap in a heartbeat. I really don't like the ring on the tail cap and would love to swap it out. I have many tactical lights and this one is probably my favorite. It is very well made and seems as if it will probably be as tough as the day ax it for decades.

The highly revered Surefire has built the Titan to the highest standard and guarantees it with their lifetime warranty. This rugged, multi-die LED is nothing short of a masterpiece of engineering. The countless variables that can alter the appearance of a LED contribute to its utility—and if overused, the bulb can start rolling around on its surface. Not a problem for me anymore. The Surefire has become part of my everyday carry and has become part of my EDC. It has become part of me from day one and I regret I have let it go. It has a lot of sentimental value and I love the fact that Surefire keeps it in mint condition. It will be a great addition to my toolkit. This little light is spectacular! The color temperature is just right and the levels are perfect in use. This has become my go to light! Amazingly bright for such a small flashlight. UPDATE:I carried this flashlight for two years from December 2015, to January 2018 when I misplaced it.

Virtually Indestructible Keychain LED Flashlight

The Surefire Titan is built with lightweight aerospace aluminum and is outfitted with a sleek, hard-anodized finish that, when compared to your basic flashlight, changes the way I view it. Yes, it is not the most powerful AAA flashlight, but it is the one I trust (Surefire, right). After a little over a year of everyday use (and I do mean every day) the fit & finish is exactly what I had hoped for & more. After a little over a dozen hours on my new Titan I removed the clip & put a small 550 lanyard on the tail. This light disappears into my pocket and is always there when needed. If you’re between this & an olight/armytek/thrunite/maratac/mecarmy please remember that Surefire focuses on American manufacturing & they make a sincere effort to use materials spices in the US rather than rely on overseas factories.

The Surefire Titans construction meets high military specifications, yet is as tough as can be—and as happy with my purchase. Yes, the Titan Plus model has a button which works better—but it's not hard to find if you want to make the switch. Sweet! Very bright for its size and nice brightness boost. Very durable with keys. Very attractive with a brass push button that clicks into place when I want it. This flashlight goes with me everywhere now. It came with a eneloop pro battery, which it replaced with a Nitecore D2V-1200A, which it loved so much it immediately came with a rechargeable Ni. Mh high capacity AAA cell. It worked flawlessly multiple times a week that entire time, and still hasn't dropped a single shadow. It comes with a lifetime warranty. It is one powerful, one great quality light. It goes with me everywhere now. I own about 30 different Surefire lights and they all work great.

Ultra-Compact LED Flashlight with Faceted Reflector

The broad beam you get from this flashlight is thanks to its faceted reflector. This is a great protection measure as it means you can point this way and still see the whole dark room easily. Great for lighting up a larger area or in close quarters. So you can't use this light as a spotlight or searchlight in an outdoor setting. The light is a bit too heavy and long and thus a bit annoying to have on your keychain. It has a neat cap on the tail which allows you to quickly detach the light from a lanyard or keychain. This is a light made more for sticking into your small jeans pocket clipped onto your pants. It's so lightweight! When out camping and the big bear comes it may just be the last keychain light you’ll ever own. I absolutely love this flashlight, its perfect in every way, I just lose it too easy Great edc light! Quite bright and compact 5 stars if a bit smaller and lighter. But overall would for sure buy again.

You will get no intense hot spot, instead the beam is as wide as your vision. It goes from there and perfectly aligns with where you aim. This is a very good home defend flashlight. Mine doesn't last long on a 2 AAA battery because of the size. Other than that a great EDC light. Definitely recommend. I didn't think that I would ever find a flashlight with 300 realistic lumens that was this small and ran on a normal battery size (AAA). It goes with me everywhere now. It came with a eneloop pro battery, and I am a big fan of those too. I've recharged it once already, even after just having it a couple weeks, this flashlight is so handy. I pulled the plastic endcap off so that it would be smaller. If it weren't so expensive, I would give these to everyone I know at Christmas time. I wish it still came with the plastic piece that allowed you to easily connect and disconnect it from a key chain though.

More Top Rated keychain LED flashlight

We have reviewed several other items of the keychain LED flashlight type. Below are the reviews for the ones who we think are the best in class: